Badger News · Fall Sports Tryouts and Information


WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW TO PLAY SPORTS AT PHS

Esports

Registration is currently ongoing with a preseason start date of Sept. 15.

E-Sports Coach – Robyn Bryce – robyn.bryce@prescottschools.com

Golf

Boys First practice – Aug. 17 (At Antelope Hills Golf Course 3:30 pm – 5:30 pm)

Girls practice times-Mon. Aug. 17th 3:45 pm at PHS, Tues. 3:45 pm at Antelope Hills

Boys Golf Coach – Dan Osterloh – dapauloh@gmail.com

Girls Golf Coach – Deb Fitzgerald – deb.fitzgerald@prescottschools.com

Mountain Biking
First Practice – Aug. 18th (5 pm at the Javelina Trailhead off Iron Springs Rd)
Head Coach – Wendall Croy – geckoglass@commspeed.net

Cross Country

Cross Country First Practice – Aug. 24 (3 pm on front lawn at PHS)

Boys CC Coach – Jeff Chandler – chandlerjeff8@gmail.com

Girls CC Coach – Andrew Atherton – andrew.atherton@prescottschools.com

Swimming

First Practice – Aug. 24 (5:15 pm meet at the softball field nearest the YMCA)

Swim Coach – Bill Riviere – william_riviere@yahoo.com

Swim Coach – Mark Polan – mlpolan10@gmail.com

Badminton
First Practice – Aug. 31 (PHS Auxiliary Gym 4-6 pm)

Badminton Coach – Bobbi Yoder – bobbi.yoder@prescottschools.com

Volleyball

First Practice – Aug. 31 (PHS Main Gym 3:30-5:30 pm)

Volleyball Coach – Courtney Adams – courtney.adams@prescottschools.com

Football
First Practice – Sept. 7 (PHS Football Field 3-5 pm)

Football Coach – Cody Collett – cody.collett@prescottschools.com
Current Physical Examination on the current AIA Form
  • AIA Physical Form – can be found here: https://prescottbadgers.com/2019-2020-aia-physical-form/
  • Per AIA regulations, a physical examination performed by a doctor of medicine (M.D.), osteopathic physician (D.O.) or certified registered nurse practitioner (N.P.) licensed to practice, or a certified physician’s assistant (PA-C) registered by the Joint Board of Medical Examiners and the Osteopathic Examiners in Medicine and Surgery.

Current Insurance Coverage

  • Students must be covered by accident insurance (Insurance requirement cannot be waived)
  • Student insurance offered by PUSD may be purchased to meet the requirement, contact the Athletic Department for more information.

REGISTER MY ATHLETE (http://registermyathlete.com/schools/)

(MUST COMPLETE REGISTRATION BEFORE ALLOWED TO TRYOUT)

  • Athletic Code of Conduct form
  • Communication Guidelines
  • No Pass No Play Policy
  • PHS Sports Equipment Agreement
  • Covid-19 Waiver Form
  • Consent to Treat
  • The Mild Traumatic Brain Injury / Concussion Annual Statement and Acknowledgement Form

A.I.A. Brainbook & Opioid course (Upload directly to your RMA account or to the Athletic Department)

Transfer Students

  • All students transferring into PHS from another high school must complete the AIA 550 form online at https://admin.aiaonline.org/public-forms/student-transfer.
  • Students are eligible to participate in athletics only in the district where their parent/guardian resides.  For questions regarding eligibility contact the Athletic Office.
  • Homeschooled Students (must reside in the Prescott attendance zone to be eligible) and must meet with the Athletic Director to complete all paperwork.

Participation Fee 

  • There is a $130 fee to participate assessed for each sport an athlete participates in.  ($65 if you qualify for free or reduced lunch) Can be paid online through the Badger website. Participation fees may be reported as a tax credit/donation on your Arizona Income Tax form.
  • Needs to be paid the week after tryouts are completed and an athlete is placed on a team.

SPORTS OFFERED

FALL SPORTS  WINTER SPORTS    SPRING SPORTS
Badminton (G)  Basketball (B&G)    Baseball
Cross Country (B&G)  Soccer (B&G)    Softball
Football  Spirit Line    Tennis (B&G)
Golf (B&G)  Wrestling    Track and Field (B&G)
Mountain Biking    Volleyball (B)
Spirit Line
Swim (B&G)
Volleyball (G)

Current AIA Modifications for fall sports are available here:  https://prescottbadgers.com/2020/08/10/aia-modifications-for-fall-sports/

Questions please contact the Athletic Department (928-445-2322 ext. 72014):
Missy Townsend – Athletic Director – missy.townsend@prescottschools.com
Bobbi Yoder – Administrative Assistant – bobbi.yoder@prescottschools.com